• Angry
  • Awesome
  • Hungry
  • Secret
  • Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Thread: Adding a powered Car sub-woofer to Presonus Eris 4.5

    1. #1

      To be, or not to be, that is
      the question: Whether 'tis
      Nobler in the mind to suffer
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28

      Adding a powered Car sub-woofer to Presonus Eris 4.5

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095218.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	2.67 MB 
ID:	234018
      I had been running Presonus Eris 4.5 coupled with FIIO E17 Alpen (as the external DAC) as my listening gear for the past years. I was pretty happy with the setup for running my songs. i was in the good (?) hands of BSNL Broadband with 2 Mbps (crawling) download speed and with that blazing speed even you tube was out of question. Then Jio came in as a revolution in providing a breather and a lot changed in broadband segment, the cable guys suddenly started providing fiber connections to homes at cheap rate. I was offered with 25 Mbps connection with monthly 150 GB FUP for 600 bucks which I took instantly and said goodbye to BSNL forever. That opened a lot of windows Netflix was now possible, Airtel gave me one year Amazon Prime free..Long story short I Started Enjoying Movies. Then I started feeling the lack of the rumbling deep Bass in my setup. Eris bass is tight but that cant provide anything below 80Hz. So i started to explore my options. Presonus Temblor T10 Active Studio Subwoofer and T8 was in my radar. But the would cost nearly 40K which I thought was bit too much for the time being.

      My search ended in Blaupunkt GTB 8200A which has a class D amp built in to it ( 75W nominal and 200W max Load). I intend to power it with a 12V SMPS of 20A, 240W. Ordered both from Amazon. Now waiting to get the Sub. Once i get it , will add more pictures.


      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095354.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	3.44 MB 
ID:	234019Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095410.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	3.67 MB 
ID:	234020Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095328.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	2.55 MB 
ID:	234021Click image for larger version. 

Name:	splitter.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	52.1 KB 
ID:	234022Name:  GTB 8200A.jpg
Views: 229
Size:  22.0 KB

    2. #2
      GearHead
      Forza Ferrari!!!
       
      Awesome
       
      KRRaj's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Trafficluru
      Posts
      6,386
      For some reason, I always assumed that Sub-wooofers used in cars cant be used elsewhere. For instance, I have a old Philips Hi-Fi system thats still doing great, but has a Sub option.
      "Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us."
      -Calvin

      Dai!!!

    3. #3

      Hello friends
       
      Awesome
       
      Dr.lakshay's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2016
      Location
      Ghaziabad
      Posts
      306
      Experiment with using car amplifier and sub in home theater. | HiFiVision.com
      Here my thread on hifivision which shows my setup of car amp and sub in my home theater. Enjoy!

      Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

    4. #4

      Hello friends
       
      Awesome
       
      Dr.lakshay's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2016
      Location
      Ghaziabad
      Posts
      306
      Quote Originally Posted by josinpaul View Post
      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095218.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	2.67 MB 
ID:	234018
      I had been running Presonus Eris 4.5 coupled with FIIO E17 Alpen (as the external DAC) as my listening gear for the past years. I was pretty happy with the setup for running my songs. i was in the good (?) hands of BSNL Broadband with 2 Mbps (crawling) download speed and with that blazing speed even you tube was out of question. Then Jio came in as a revolution in providing a breather and a lot changed in broadband segment, the cable guys suddenly started providing fiber connections to homes at cheap rate. I was offered with 25 Mbps connection with monthly 150 GB FUP for 600 bucks which I took instantly and said goodbye to BSNL forever. That opened a lot of windows Netflix was now possible, Airtel gave me one year Amazon Prime free..Long story short I Started Enjoying Movies. Then I started feeling the lack of the rumbling deep Bass in my setup. Eris bass is tight but that cant provide anything below 80Hz. So i started to explore my options. Presonus Temblor T10 Active Studio Subwoofer and T8 was in my radar. But the would cost nearly 40K which I thought was bit too much for the time being.

      My search ended in Blaupunkt GTB 8200A which has a class D amp built in to it ( 75W nominal and 200W max Load). I intend to power it with a 12V SMPS of 20A, 240W. Ordered both from Amazon. Now waiting to get the Sub. Once i get it , will add more pictures.


      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095354.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	3.44 MB 
ID:	234019Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095410.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	3.67 MB 
ID:	234020Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20181222_095328.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	2.55 MB 
ID:	234021Click image for larger version. 

Name:	splitter.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	52.1 KB 
ID:	234022Name:  GTB 8200A.jpg
Views: 229
Size:  22.0 KB
      I will advise buying separate amp and sub so that you can upgrade your sub if required without upgrading the amp.

      Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

    5. #5

      To be, or not to be, that is
      the question: Whether 'tis
      Nobler in the mind to suffer
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Quote Originally Posted by Dr.lakshay View Post
      I will advise buying separate amp and sub so that you can upgrade your sub if required without upgrading the amp.

      Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
      Thanks. I already bought it from amazon, besides i chose this because of two reasons.
      1. neighbors are too close, cant irritate them.
      2. less clutter of wires as the sub is inside woofer.

    6. #6

      To be, or not to be, that is
      the question: Whether 'tis
      Nobler in the mind to suffer
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Quote Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
      For some reason, I always assumed that Sub-wooofers used in cars cant be used elsewhere. For instance, I have a old Philips Hi-Fi system thats still doing great, but has a Sub option.
      its actually very cheap to set up a decent hifi system using car amp and speakers in home which could put those 5.1 consumer hifis to shame at half its cost.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Adding 2 more wheels
      By nisnth in forum Introduce Yourself
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 7th Oct 2015, 19:12
    2. Think before adding Xado or Nano energizer
      By drpullockaran in forum Engines & Transmissions
      Replies: 57
      Last Post: 21st Aug 2015, 01:16
    3. Adding Nexus 7 to your car dashboard as infotainment center
      By mazda6forever in forum Electricals & Electronics
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 9th Jun 2014, 07:36
    4. Adding ancillary lights and other mods to Safari
      By camchennai in forum Safari/Storme
      Replies: 29
      Last Post: 10th Dec 2012, 23:28
    5. Adding an amplifier to a OEM headunit - i20 Magna
      By shrayv in forum Equipment & Install Queries
      Replies: 27
      Last Post: 25th Jul 2012, 23:20

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •