• Angry
  • Awesome
  • Hungry
  • Secret
  • Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which used car for a total beginner?

not aware that he can set his status here!

Awesome

Which used car for a total beginner?

Hi guys,

I'm just about to begin my journey into the automotive world. I'm going to enroll with the Maruti Driving School(Bannerghatta Road) next week and in about 1.5 months hope to end my dependence on these @!$@%& autowallahs forever.

I'm planning to start with a cheap used car to learn the ropes on. However, I know that in no time I'll be lusting for more power and refinement and hence would like to buy a capable car. My weekday usage should be only around 20Km(office commute). Once I have the car, long weekend trips around B'lore are bound to materialize. I am planning to stick to petrol engines. My budget is fairly low - around 1.5-2 L for hatchbacks and going upto 2.5-2.8L if I find a good deal on a sedan.

Here are the contenders (as per my knowledge, please feel free to add any I've missed)

M800 - Not really considering it. Poor levels of aesthetics, power and refinement offend my sensibilities

Alto - Better than M800, but would keep this as a last resort

WagonR, Santro Xing - Not too hot on tallboys at the moment.

Swift - Wouldn't fit my budget I guess.

Zen(post 2000 MPFI) - Totally open to it. Since this is an out-of-production but popular Maruti model, I guess maintenance shouldn't be very tough? I see very high resale quotes though. What year/Kms can I expect in my budget in B'lore? Most samples I see advertised are very old, how does this car hold up after 5-8 years?

Palio 1.6GTX - Muahaha..who doesn't dream of a 100 horses at 1.5L? How difficult is the maintenance of this beast in reality? I know FE is terrible but...it has, like 100bhp..you know? At this point it's my heart speaking, my mind says stay away!