• Angry
  • Awesome
  • Hungry
  • Secret
  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Thread: RPM meter shooting up

    1. #1
      Global Moderator
      Driving Worlds fastest truck!!
       
      Awesome
       
      shishirbn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Namma BENGALURU
      Posts
      19,639

      RPM meter shooting up

      Hi Guys,
      wanted help for my bike.

      In my Bike, the RPM meter shoots up when I start the bike and whenever I apply brakes or clutch the needle shoots to the max limit and then comes back.

      What might be the reason?

      Thanks
      Try walking into YOUR car rather than crawling. For me walking is always best ---GURU SHISHIR

    2. #2

      Hungry for more POWER!!!
       
      Hungry
       
      The Flash's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Mango & Steel City
      Posts
      2,718
      The fuse might have gone kaput. Check the fuse box near the battery.!

      its a small black box with a rubber type holding. you need to pull it out from that rubber holder.

    3. #3
      Global Moderator
      Driving Worlds fastest truck!!
       
      Awesome
       
      shishirbn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Namma BENGALURU
      Posts
      19,639
      Will try this Bala. Thanks for the help. Will update soon on this.
      Try walking into YOUR car rather than crawling. For me walking is always best ---GURU SHISHIR

    4. #4

      On the lookout for more 4
      wheel victims.
       
      Hungry
       
      tadukuttan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      4,996
      Might be a dying battery...

    5. #5
      Global Moderator
      Driving Worlds fastest truck!!
       
      Awesome
       
      shishirbn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Namma BENGALURU
      Posts
      19,639
      Quote Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
      Might be a dying battery...
      Tadu, chances are there for this also I guess. Why because, 2 years I had replaced the battery at around 45K kms. But it was a dry battery which I took. Sometime the self start also doesn't work. Culprit might be the battery also. Will have to do a DIY thing I guess this weekend.
      Try walking into YOUR car rather than crawling. For me walking is always best ---GURU SHISHIR

    6. #6

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       
      Aargee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
      Posts
      4,000
      I'm little embarrassed to ask, what's the relation between RPM meter (a.k.a tacho meter) & battery? Doesn't the tacho work based on the cycles from the stator/magnet? Can anyone help me understand?

    7. #7

      On the lookout for more 4
      wheel victims.
       
      Hungry
       
      tadukuttan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      4,996
      Quote Originally Posted by Aargee View Post
      I'm little embarrassed to ask, what's the relation between RPM meter (a.k.a tacho meter) & battery? Doesn't the tacho work based on the cycles from the stator/magnet? Can anyone help me understand?
      One simple circuit I googled up from http://www.circuitstoday.com/tachometer-circuit. I am sure modern tachos are more complicated, but I guess they would need a power source to convert frequency to current?
      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tachometer-circuit.png 
Views:	47 
Size:	19.3 KB 
ID:	27899

      Now, who knows this enough to really explain it?

    8. #8

      ^ BHP = Torque X RPM
       
      Awesome
       
      bhpistorqintorpm's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      2,398
      'm sure this the problem with the weak battery!! 've experienced this couple of times on pulsar! as rpm meter behaves as if it has own mind
      ______________
      rx 135
      zen c a r b o n
      1.6 D slushbox verna



      Save the endangered species!! Save the Two Strokes!!

      https://www.facebook.com/groups/130855790280909/

    9. #9
      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3,207
      Quote Originally Posted by Aargee View Post
      I'm little embarrassed to ask, what's the relation between RPM meter (a.k.a tacho meter) & battery? Doesn't the tacho work based on the cycles from the stator/magnet? Can anyone help me understand?
      yeah me too. the current is coming from dynamo right? ive seen bikes with no batery working fine execpt for horn.

    10. #10

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       
      Aargee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
      Posts
      4,000
      Quote Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
      I am sure modern tachos are more complicated, but I guess they would need a power source to convert frequency to current?
      Tks for the wiring diagram, you made me realize how much physics is important in life, because I used to fail miserably in my school days!!! In short, I haven't understood a thing Sry

      Quote Originally Posted by tadukuttan View Post
      Now, who knows this enough to really explain it?
      Yea, the million $$$ question

      Quote Originally Posted by bhpistorqintorpm View Post
      'm sure this the problem with the weak battery!! 've experienced this couple of times on pulsar! as rpm meter behaves as if it has own mind
      I do not deny this fact, but how does battery play a role in tacho is all I'm asking.

      Quote Originally Posted by carphreak View Post
      yeah me too. the current is coming from dynamo right? ive seen bikes with no batery working fine execpt for horn.
      +1
      But the point is, the old school (Rx & Shogun) took the connection as per our understanding. The modern day digital CDI also has some role in tacho is what I know...oh!!! wait a minute...

      If the CDI is digital & sources power from battery AND IF the battery is weak, yes, there's some link that I see, but not sure if this is the right way of thought.
      Last edited by Aargee; 5th Jan 2011 at 06:30.

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. How to use Trip Meter?
      By The Flash in forum Engines & Transmissions
      Replies: 16
      Last Post: 4th Jan 2011, 22:54
    2. At What rpm does the Turbo kickin
      By kvk in forum Engines & Transmissions
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: 12th Nov 2010, 18:26
    3. RPM meter
      By The Flash in forum Swift
      Replies: 16
      Last Post: 19th Oct 2010, 22:07
    4. Mercedes CLS Shooting Break Concept: A New Dream Car
      By shishirbn in forum General Discussions
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 23rd Apr 2010, 15:09
    5. ODO Meter tampering and car service history
      By tadukuttan in forum Electricals & Electronics
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 18th Dec 2009, 16:07

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •