• Angry
  • Awesome
  • Hungry
  • Secret
  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Thread: Modifying the Linea/Punto 1.4 NA - Torque7

    1. #1
      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      61

      Modifying the Linea/Punto 1.4 NA - Torque7

      FIAT Linea 1.4 / Punto 1.4 wins hands down when it comes to looks. They are one of the few cars which have perfect looks and as the Linea adv goes - Admiration Guaranteed. But there is something that is missing and that is the fire power underneath the bonnet. Now don't get me wrong these are very good and well built engines but its just that they need more power. This is where Torque7 comes in.

      We have modified Linea 1.4 and tested it on dyno. The car in question, was already remapped version of the Linea 1.4 but it still had the OEM air filter. The owner was not so happy with the car's performance. Hence we modded the car with our AIR kit. The test process that we followed is explained below

      How we tested:

      1. Test runs on the stock air intake by the owner
      2. Installed the AIR and did few more test runs
      3. Reverted back onto the stock air box and put the car on the rolling road - dyno
      4. Did several runs on the dyno and used the best dyno run for reference.
      5. Added the AIR again and did several runs on the dyno using the best for reference.

      find below the results
      Linea 1.4 NA peak power 76.83hp @ 5700 rpm
      Linea 1.4 NA with air intake revision - peak power 82.35hp @ 6050 rpm

      Attached dyno graphs of the Linea.

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Linea 1.4 NA.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	124.0 KB 
ID:	37532

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Linea 1.4 NA AIR.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	121.7 KB 
ID:	37533

    2. #2
      Support Donkey
      Turbo Lag - Giving the NA guys
      just 1 extra second of false
      hope :p
       
      Awesome
       
      mclaren1885's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      23,190
      Any idea what a stock Linea produces? Was it dyno'd before the remap?

      And even after the remap the Linea puts out only 76bhp?

      Peak torque at 6050 rpm sounds a little strange for a diesel motor. But 6bhp increase from a AIR is impressive nonetheless.

    3. #3
      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      61
      Hi mclaren1885,

      Linea in question here is the petrol 1.4 NA version. Diesel version is the 1.3 multijet engine (the national engine). The car was dynoed before and after the remap but we do not have access to these files as the other tuner will not share the maps with the owner. The Stock Linea produces 90 PS at 6000 rpm. This is always measured at the flywheel and at wheels there is a loss of around 15 to 17% due to drivetrain losses.

      The bhp measure is on actual here i.e on wheels (where it matters the most and not at the flywheel). Hope this helps.

      Thanks

    4. #4
      Support Donkey
      Turbo Lag - Giving the NA guys
      just 1 extra second of false
      hope :p
       
      Awesome
       
      mclaren1885's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      23,190
      Quote Originally Posted by kailashnj View Post
      Linea in question here is the petrol 1.4 NA version.
      Ah! My bad, that explains the peak power at high RPMs. Don't know why I kept assuming it to be a diesel mill.

      And remap for a petrol sounds interesting, any idea who did it?

    5. #5
      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      61
      Mclaren - we can now remap Petrol Linea as well as many other cars that are available in India. Let me know if you need a remap

    6. #6

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       
      Gilead's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Chennai
      Posts
      4,906
      kailashnj is a remap available for the Fiesta 1.6 petrol?
      I don't know what's gonna happen man but I wanna have my kicks before the whole shithouse goes up in flames

    7. #7
      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      61
      For the Fiesta 1.6 we have more than just a remap to offer. We have a highly effective AIR setup along with customized remap both. Let me know if you are interested.

    8. #8

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       
      Gilead's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Chennai
      Posts
      4,906
      I am not but Mi10 and kiku007 may be. And what would be the expected gains from the AIR and remap?
      I don't know what's gonna happen man but I wanna have my kicks before the whole shithouse goes up in flames

    9. #9
      Support Donkey
      Turbo Lag - Giving the NA guys
      just 1 extra second of false
      hope :p
       
      Awesome
       
      mclaren1885's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      23,190
      Quote Originally Posted by kailashnj View Post
      Let me know if you need a remap
      Thanks for the offer Kailash, but remap on? I have a car that cannot be remapped

    10. #10
      Reboot
      Curiosity killed the cat;
      Insecurity killed the man
       
      Hungry
       
      Mi10's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      Chennai
      Posts
      4,915
      Quote Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
      I am not but Mi10 and kiku007 may be. And what would be the expected gains from the AIR and remap?
      Oh gawd, whats this ? Will it make my Quasi Active more louder ?

      kailashnj, i dont know much about these things, all i want is my FIesta to be Faster and Louder. I have taken care of the latter, so pls help me understand how you ll make it faster.

      Few basic questions;
      What is AIR ?
      Remap of Existing ECU ? or your talking about some piggyback ?
      Will i be able to go back to the older remap if needed
      My Fiesta is already giving me single digits mileage, will it improve or will it become even worse
      Do i need to upgrade anyother part (Like Brakes, Suspension) if i were to do this AIR+Remap thingy ???
      RIP Penguin May 2013 - Dec 2015

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. New Improved 2011 Fiat Punto/Linea
      By sat-chit-ananada in forum Fiat
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 29th Apr 2011, 14:20
    2. Modifying a Diesel for Performance.
      By Ripper in forum Engines & Transmissions
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: 30th Mar 2011, 11:15
    3. Replies: 49
      Last Post: 14th Dec 2010, 15:20

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •