• Angry
  • Awesome
  • Hungry
  • Secret
  • Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 48

    Thread: Why did my XYLO engine stalled at 6300ft altitude

    1. #1
      Global Moderator
      Driving Worlds fastest truck!!
       
      Awesome
       
      shishirbn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Namma BENGALURU
      Posts
      19,591

      Why did my XYLO engine stalled at 6300ft altitude

      Hi Guys,

      Please don't use this thread to make jokes that the turbo was not used etc. I want some technical answers.

      This week I had been to Mullayanagiri which is the highest peak in Karnataka having around 6300ft.

      Now when I was driving to the top of the peak nothing happened to the engine or the engine didn't stall. Now we parked on the top and after 15 mins I came back cranked and then tried to take a "U" turn.

      When taking the "U" turn I was on an incline like almost 10deg. Now the vehicle was going back. I braked and with half clutch the vehicle was still. Then put into neutral. So I slotted into first gear and gave the accelerator.

      The RPM was not going more than 1000. The vehicle didn't move at all. Even in neutral I tried flooring the accelerator and the rpm didn't move more than 1100. SO the vehicle was in that incline position and was in Idle for 5 mins and then with half clutch gave the accelerator and climbed that 10deg incline and came out of that situation.

      Now I came down from the peak and almost after 400-500mtrs from the top I stopped and just pressed the accelerator and the rpm went upto 4000 and it was acting as if nothing happened.

      Was it because there was very less oxygen?
      or due to altitude my XYLO ECU didn't recognize it?
      Any tuning required to take care of future altitude problems?

      Answers required guys...
      Last edited by shishirbn; 10th Jul 2011 at 19:29.
      Try walking into YOUR car rather than crawling. For me walking is always best ---GURU SHISHIR

    2. #2
      Support Donkey
      Turbo Lag - Giving the NA guys
      just 1 extra second of false
      hope :p
       
      Awesome
       
      mclaren1885's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      23,167
      Seems quite strange that.

      Even if you do not have enough oxygen your engine should rev beyond 1000rpm when you free rev it. Was the RPM needle moving when you floor the throttle or was there no response at all?

      Seems like a TPS or MAF sensor that intermittently stopped working. 1100 rpm is too low an RPM for your ECU to have gone into limp home mode.

      Do take your Xylo to the showroom and ask them to hook up the OBD scanner and look for error codes, it surely must have tripped something off.

      Btw, did you notice the MIL light come on during this time?
      2002 Tata Indica DLS.
      2004 Suzuki Zen - A G13B eater.
      2005 Suzuki Baleno - India's fastest Naturally Aspirated Baleno timed on a drag strip officially!
      2008 Suzuki Swift VDi - The Rattle King.
      2011 Chevrolet Cruze - The Torque Monster.
      2016 Ford Ecosport 1.5 TDCi Titanium - The SQ Machine in the making.
      2017 Skoda Octavia VRS - A 400+HP corner craving machine!
      2014 MOC SQ Pro Champions.
      Harmonixx Tuning - Importers for Audiofrog & Arc Audio/APR Tuning Authorized Dealers/Engine Remap Specialists for all makes/models.
      Dealers for Rainbow/Mosconi/Eton/Stetcom/Tru Technology/Blam Audio/Mobridge/Stetsom/Audible Physics/AIV/Gladen/Dampmat/Dr Artex Damping and more.

    3. #3
      GearHead
      Forza Ferrari!!!
       
      Awesome
       
      KRRaj's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Trafficluru
      Posts
      6,499
      I dont remember whether here or on TBHP, someone reported a similar problem with their i2- CRDi also at Mullayanagiri I believe.
      "Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us."
      -Calvin

      Dai!!!

    4. #4

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      New Delhi / G.Noida
      Posts
      130
      I can relate to your problem so well since it happened to me almost like this with my new fully loaded manza & later I shot a video to simulate what happened but finally found that in my case the problem was brake caliper rubbing against the disk hence creating friction & loosing power.

      In your case you are saying that engine could not rev up beyond 1100rpm in my case I did manage upto 3000rpm.

      Here is a test video


      a link on other forum where I posted the problem & later found the solution too.
      New Manza Creeching Loss of Power

      Your case seems to be bit different & I would like to know the cause since I travel a lot to the mountains for my job.
      Quote Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
      also at Mullayanagiri I believe.
      I hope this spot is no way similar to Bermuda triangle where ships & planes loose power & then disappear mysteriously.
      Last edited by urban_gypsy; 10th Jul 2011 at 21:22.
      Ranjan
      ------------------
      Manza Aura Abs+, FE 22kmpl.

    5. #5
      Global Moderator
      Driving Worlds fastest truck!!
       
      Awesome
       
      shishirbn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Namma BENGALURU
      Posts
      19,591
      Quote Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
      Seems quite strange that
      Ya Rahul, for me also it was strange as this was the first time.

      Quote Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
      Was the RPM needle moving when you floor the throttle or was there no response at all?
      No re... first it was at idle rpm i.e around 850-900 and when the throttle was full it moved upto 1100rpm at the top of the hill.... after that when I came out of that place it started moving up and after 500mtr I free rev'ed it and it moved upto 4k rpm

      Quote Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
      1100 rpm is too low an RPM for your ECU to have gone into limp home mode.
      I never saw this limp mode actually. while going up the hill it went nicely without any loss of power

      Quote Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
      Do take your Xylo to the showroom and ask them to hook up the OBD scanner and look for error codes
      I called and aked the expert over there. He told may be the ECU didn't had values for high altitude. He told he will fix a laptop and check the ECU for error codes.

      Quote Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
      Btw, did you notice the MIL light come on during this time
      No Rahul, the light didn't come. None of the lights came up.

      Quote Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
      I dont remember whether here or on TBHP, someone reported a similar problem with their i2- CRDi also at Mullayanagiri I believe
      Can you please check it out once. If you have some where stored or remember the link

      Quote Originally Posted by urban_gypsy View Post
      I would like to know the cause since I travel a lot to the mountains for my job
      Just hook on to this thread for more updates from experts.
      Try walking into YOUR car rather than crawling. For me walking is always best ---GURU SHISHIR

    6. #6

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      New Delhi / G.Noida
      Posts
      130
      Quote Originally Posted by shishirbn View Post
      I called and aked the expert over there. He told may be the ECU didn't had values for high altitude. He told he will fix a laptop and check the ECU for error codes.
      Can the ECU sense altitude by its own, I would like to know more about how ecu is controlling the car.
      Ranjan
      ------------------
      Manza Aura Abs+, FE 22kmpl.

    7. #7

      Do Not Follow Me X)
       
      Secret
       
      mastersquall's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Delhi,India
      Posts
      1,011
      I am not much expert but once a SA in tata told me that In modern cars its Ecu job to sense input and make engine work according to situation that is when ECU sense that oxygen is less then it takes value given by engineer for high altitude in op case it might be missing so he had issue

    8. #8
      O_o
       
      Awesome
       
      Godfather's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      7,733
      Quote Originally Posted by shishirbn View Post
      He told may be the ECU didn't had values for high altitude.
      that's nonsense plain and simple.

      i had the same issue in the new Dicor when we went to Ooty for the first time, half way through the car had similiar symptoms and refused to climb.
      luckily there was a chai shop nearby and i stopped for tea and let the car make up its mind.

      10 minutes later the dicor started and moved along with no more issues ever.

      my question's to you before i write any further is -
      1. Is this the first time your vehicle has climbed to this altitude?
      2. while climbing up hill did you stay in the 1st and 2nd gears (steep climb and U turns) ?

      More about ECU here - HowStuffWorks
      Last edited by Godfather; 11th Jul 2011 at 10:39.

    9. #9

      not aware that he can set his status here!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      New Delhi / G.Noida
      Posts
      130
      Quote Originally Posted by mastersquall View Post
      then it takes value given by engineer for high altitude in op case it might be missing so he had issue
      So it means ECU can easily fail us while driving in odd conditions, companies should provide a user manual to the users so they can understand its working better.
      Quote Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
      1. Is this the first time your vehicle has climbed to this altitude?
      In my case Yes manza was going to hill for the 1st time, is this expected from a new car moving up the hill 1st time?
      Quote Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
      2. while climbing up hill did you stay in the 1st and 2nd gears (steep climb and U turns) ?
      Yes I was running in 2nd gear with full loaded car but when this sudden loss happened it didn't even move further in 1st gear @ 3000rpm. The video simulates exactly the same condition except that this video shows a car with only me sitting in it whereas at the time of this power loss 5 adults & boot was loaded.
      Last edited by urban_gypsy; 11th Jul 2011 at 10:46.
      Ranjan
      ------------------
      Manza Aura Abs+, FE 22kmpl.

    10. #10
      O_o
       
      Awesome
       
      Godfather's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Bangalore
      Posts
      7,733
      Quote Originally Posted by urban_gypsy View Post
      In my case Yes manza was going to hill for the 1st time, is this expected from a new car moving up the hill 1st time?
      Quote Originally Posted by urban_gypsy View Post
      Yes I was running in 2nd gear with full loaded car but when this sudden loss happened it didn't even move further in 1st gear @ 3000rpm.
      1. not necessarily, but sometimes Yes. try taking the Manza again and you will probably not face the same issue again, the reason behind this is well explained in the link I have given above.
      your ECU was re-calculating the new readings of incline, oxygen levels, RPM, Gear etc etc. give the new vehicle time to adjust, things should go well from there on.
      2. the reason I have asked this is because many people try to drive the vehicle up-hill even on 3rd gear till the car almost stalls and then change to second and gun it. this is not a good practice.

      PS - I faced the same issue with the endeavour during the small climb to yelagiri, the temp needle climbed over half way mark and the gear was always on D.
      once I noticed the slight lag in climb, i switched off O/D and slowed down, then stopped for 15 minutes. after that the vehicle has never behaved the same way on any climb.

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 48
      Last Post: 6th Mar 2011, 08:38
    2. One more Xylo on GH !
      By xylouser in forum Introduce Yourself
      Replies: 15
      Last Post: 2nd Jan 2011, 16:35
    3. Which engine oil for Hurricane engine?
      By Frankenstein in forum 4x4s and Off-Road
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 17th Nov 2010, 17:00
    4. My Xylo E4
      By prakashjga0203 in forum Xylo
      Replies: 16
      Last Post: 20th Oct 2010, 14:28
    5. Smaller CC engine VS bigger CC engine in a bigger car.
      By shyam in forum Engines & Transmissions
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 26th Nov 2009, 13:29

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •