• Angry
  • Awesome
  • Hungry
  • Secret
  • Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Initial impressions on my new i20 Magna

not aware that he can set his status here!

Awesome

Initial impressions on my new i20 Magna

CAUTION: Long read!
      After owning and driving a 2001 M800 and a 2005 Zen, we were on a lookout for a more spacious hatch. We could afford a sedan but it was out of question because I am a consultant and will have to tackle the bylanes of Hyderabad, where parking spots are scarce and traffic policemen who are willing to tow your car away are many.
      Our criteria were these:
      1. Spacious boot and ample space for a hatchback: Might look a bit funny as a main criteria but during our days with M800 and Zen, we had to pile up our passengers with our own version of “cabin luggage” and this was not something that we wanted to face again in the new one. Test drove and eliminated Ritz on these criteria while the Swift was placed as a possible criterion though we were not too impressed with the backseat comfort.
      2. Reliable A.S.S: I am a stickler for maintenance and cannot tolerate sub-standard service. This was a main reason why we stuck with Maruti all this time. Tata Vista (Cousin’s horrendous experience), Fiat Punto (Brother-in-law almost got a paralytic stroke after 2nd service) and VW Polo (No TD car sent even after 3 calls) were eliminated at this stage.
      3. Stylish (Wife’s criteria) with reasonable FE: This is where i20 came into the picture. I certainly didn’t want a boxy looking car giving me a good FE and was okay with a car giving me a reasonable FE which can be told to friends without them s******ing.
      4. Price in and around 6 lakhs: I am already servicing a home loan and had recently upgraded my workplace and certainly didn’t want to take another loan. I had a cash of 6lakhs ready and was not ready to pay a rupee more. Because we wanted a bigger hatch, this certainly meant taking a petrol one and I was okay with it.